Acorn Community Church


There are many people who serve in a leadership capacity at Acorn CC - helping the various ministries and areas of the church to function effectively. We believe that it is a privilege to be called to lead within the body of Christ and we greatly value those who contribute in this way.

Acorn – Leadership Team
Acorn Community Church has a Leadership Team of 3 people who oversee and care for the church, as well as helping others to develop their own leadership skills.

The current Leadership Team…

Phil Glover (Minister)
Phil became the minister at Acorn in January ’07 after leading Youth for Christ in the region for 20 years. Phil is married to Wendy (his childhood sweetheart) and they have two children – David & Amy; both at university. Wendy has just finished her Masters degree in ‘Science & Religion’ and is also a Lead Practitioner in science education. Phil also currently heads up Eden in the region – helping churches reach young people in the most deprived areas of the north east. He also enjoys sleep, golf, Derby County and tea.

Sheila Hodgson
Sheila has been happily married to John for over 30 years. They have 3 wonderful daughters and 2 beautiful grandchildren. John teaches in a local high school. Sheila has a career in finance and has a dry sense of humour - she loves to entertain and enjoys long walks in the country with John and their cute dog Daisy.

Dean Titterton
Dean moved with his family to Whitley Bay 6 years ago. Originally from Nottingham (Gods little acre according to Dean), he moved to the North East to head up the work of the YMCA in the area. Dean is married to Becky and has three daughters; Chloe, Amelia and Grace. Becky is a primary school teacher and also helps lead the children and young peoples work at the church. While not working for the YMCA Dean enjoys football (Nottingham Forest all the way), playing golf once a year, red wine and spending time with the family and eating out.

There is also a Church Board, which meets quarterly and includes: Phil Glover (Chair), Julia Wilthew (Church Secretary), Roy Lemberger (Hon Treasurer), Anne Holmes. Church Administrator – Anne Holmes.

Acorn Community Church Facebook

All content copyright Acorn Community Church 2015 Site development by